Thoughts on BUZZFEED’S video ‘I am a Christian…but I’m not’

By Ninos Hadjirousou

It has been some months now that I’ve noticed many people watching this video produced by the Buzzfeed crew called ‘I am a Christian…but I’m not’, that made me wonder what the video all is about. Here below is the link of the video:

Those who watched it, who would profess to be Christian have shared it with their friends and have encouraged them to look at the videos by this group as ‘great’ and ‘excellent’. But when I watched it, I was not encouraged, in fact, I was sad. Because I heard nothing about Jesus Christ, just the message ‘I am not like those people’. And my concern is that the people who are non-Christian, will watch this and say ‘that’s a Christian’ and young converts will be in utter confusion and may be tempted to think ‘this is ok, because they say their Christian’.

Let me also say this: i write this out of a concern for those who would watch this video but also a loving concern for those who are in the video. Some of them maybe young converts. Those who would agree with what I will say; must also agree that the people who are in the video, are deceived and miss led by false teachers. We must bear in mind that they have not been encouraged to consider following Christ. They have been taught that the world will think of them as fools if they follow what the Bible says, so they are afraid of becoming fools for Christ. The false teachers have encouraged them to compromise truth, making them thinking that this is what it means to follow Christ. So we must be sympathetic to what they have been told by false teachers in the United States. Knowing this we must reveal the truth, because a Christian is a lover of the truth.

So I would like to take this time and encourage you to examine these statements and look according to the Word of God as we are commanded to if what they say represents real Christianity (Acts 17:11).

We will recognize two things in the video: first, all these people on buzzfeed who profess ‘Christians’ don’t want to be like those who faithfully obey God’s Will.

Here are some of the things they said: “I’m Christian but I’m not homophobic; I’m Christian and I’m definitely not perfect; I’m Christian but I’m not close-minded; but I’m not unaccepting; but I’m not uneducated; but I am not judgmental; but I’m not conservative;

Now if they define that being homophobic means: someone not agreeing and not approving on same sex marriage; then I would be called homophobic. Because as we Christians we obey and agree with what Scripture teaches regarding marriage. God teaches that marriage is only for one man and one women (Genesis 1:27, 2:24). I could define all the words they say and say what the Bible says; but the core of there statement is ‘we are not like those Christian’s’ who by the way, are faithful by obeying God’s Word and they are following the same people from the past who have been martyrs for the faith because they held the Bible as their rule and authority in life. This ‘we are not like these people’ attitude, has shown to us a Pharisaic way of thinking, like the one in (Luke 18:11-12). The Pharisees loved and desired to win the praises of men. And sadly it seems that there are actually doing that by promoting these videos. What do they think what God thinks when they say such statements? Has no one told them what the Lord say’s before anyone follows him to count the cost (John 15:18-21) “if they persecuted me, they will also persecute you” (other passages Matthew 16:24-25, 2 Timothy 3:12, Luke 14:26-32, 1 Corinthians 2, Matthew 7:20-22, Matthew 10:33).

“I’m Christian but I don’t have all the answers”.

Let’s focus on this statement that is said here. This person claims to be a Christian and yet he does not have all the answers. Well if he means Christians don’t have all (literal) the answers of the universe then yes I agree. One must be God to know all knowledge. But if he is saying that ‘I don’t have the answers to life big questions; because I have not received the most important truth, which is written in God’s Word; the Gospel, salvation and forgiveness of sins etc.;’, then I am not so certain to call that young man a follower of Christ. Because Christians know the answer to life’s most important questions. The Lord Jesus Christ prayed to the Father foe His flock: “this is eternal life, that they know you the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom you have sent”(John 17:3). God’s Word says that man is a sinner under the wrath of God, he is guilty and fallen as a creature. And the only way that he can be saved from God’s Just wrath is to trust and believe in Christ Jesus alone by faith alone whom God the Father has send. Salvation and eternal life is through Christ alone, in Christ alone. Why will they not say this great and glorious truth?

Then a question from the video “What are you?”

but I am accepting;” “but I am queer; I am gay; but I am a feminist; I’m a feminist; definitely am a feminist;

We have some who would say ‘I am gay’ and yet they call themselves Christian. This tells us that homosexual lifestyle and being Christian is ‘ok’. And others who advocate the movement which does not agree with God’s design of marriage are ‘definitely feminist’ as expressed in the video. And didn’t one of them say that she would like to give anyone sex advice? These are terrible things to say. What does God say to people to say such things? “Do not be deceived: neither the sexually immoral, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor men who practice homosexuality, not thieves, nor greedy, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God” (1 Corinthians 6:9-10). God’s word also says “Though they know God’s decree that those who practice such things deserve to die, they not only do them but give approval to those who practice them”(Romans 1:32). God’s word is clear. So if they identify themselves as those who are welcoming ideas and lifestyles that reject God’s Word, then sadly it would be unwise for me to say they are followers of the Lamb.

The second point that I want to bring is (and this is the most important one): they don’t mention Christ.

Then the next question comes: Text: What do you want people to know about Christianity?

To which they respond:

I guess what I’d like people to know about Christianity today is that we’re all kind of not crazy; We shouldn’t be judged on just the people that you see in the media, or just the people that you’ve met in everyday life. every Christian is different, and we deserve a chance to explain ourselves; A lot of people think Christianity ruins people, but to me I think it’s people that are ruining Christianity, you never really see the good that happens, you only see the hypocrites, and the people who put themselves on a higher pedestal;

Sadly, the hypocrites that they mention are those who speak against the things which this group is open to: homosexuality and Feminism and Gospel compromise. Though people say those things against genuine Christians; we know that this is not going to stop us from faithful witnessing and speaking the truth to others. Because Christ told us to count the cost and to consider that persecution and trials will come from the world if desire to live faithfully the Christian life (John 15:19-20, 2 Timothy 3:12).

Then this statement came: “But at its core it’s really about love and acceptance and being a good neighbor;”

The statement made is one that ignores what is truly the core foundation of all Christian doctrine and living. And that is Jesus Christ. There is no mention about Christ in this video. If they don’t then one must ask why?

And I think the answer is obvious to all true Christian’s. Christian’s would profess the name of Christ and all his teachings, to all nations to all people with every opportunity they are given. These people were given the opportunity to publically proclaim Christ’s truth and love and His Gospel, but they have not. God commands us all to reach out to the unconverted and love them by speaking the truth as well as doing actions of love.

So we must conclude that this group who sadly claim to represent ‘Christianity’, sadly, do not really represent the core Christian beliefs of Christianity. And if they make another video, I would not want to encourage anyone to watch them. Because it brings to my friends and to brothers and sisters in Christ the wrong message and much confusion to what a Christian is and how a Christian is supposed to act in the world. I also understand that most of them are from places that the Christian Gospel and biblical truth is not preached, so in a sense, we ought to be sympathetic and lovingly pray for them.

Leave a Reply

